Well, I did it!

Discussion about fishing in real life

Moderators: Scottish Warrior, Yellowstone7, richwest, Pitti

Well, I did it!

Postby wyldechylde77 » Thu Jun 06, 2013 2:15 am

Hey guys,

Well, for as long as I have been an avid fisherman, for all the knots I know, species I have caught, lures and bait I have used, I decided that it was time to teach myself a little something different and add another dimension to my fishing exploits. After careful studying, thinking of the species of fish in this area, waterways, time, and some really helpful advice from Stanley, I finally picked up a fly rod starter kit!

It is a 7/8 wt, 9' rod, WF-8-F line (need to find out what that means LOL), and a few flies. Even has an instructional DVD! I think it will help that I already have a general idea about casting, but just have to learn how to actually cast and cast accurately. I have a lot of knowledge of different knots, which will come in handy for attaching line, leaders and flies. It's gonna be a long road of learning and mistakes, and of course learning FROM mistakes, but I think I'm up for the challenge! The rewards are well worth it! Hopefully, I'll have pics of my first fish on the fly this weekend for you guys! Thanks Stanley for all the advice and pointing me in the right direction!
wyldechylde77

Re: Well, I did it!

Postby Ninjata » Thu Jun 06, 2013 9:51 am

wf 8 f means u have a wheight forward line in aftma 8 and it floats :)
wf lines are better for distance casts , for a better presentation u need a DT (Double Taper) line, but in ur class is a WF line better, DT lines are good for rods class 6 and lower

Greetings
a real flyfisher

Ninjata
save the worms, fish with flies :)
Ninjata

Postby Yellowstone7 » Thu Jun 06, 2013 11:05 pm

Hi Chuck: